Gardening fun!

The garden is doing some really exciting things! I have been harvesting the cold hardy crops that I planted the end of March. We have enjoyed tons of fresh spinach and froze bags and bags of spinach we were unable to eat before the spinach began to bolt with the warmer weather. We will use the frozen spinach in soups, smoothies and sauces for the year!

We have been continually been harvesting beet greens, kale and lettuce for a couple months. It’s so wonderful to just walk up to the garden and get the veggies I need for dinner. It doesnt get fresher than that!!

Yesturday I harvested some carrots and discovered some of them were very woody. After some research I discovered it was probably from the heat wave last week. So I plucked all of them out of the ground. Luckily there were many that are still very yummy! The bunnies enjoyed the woody ones and the carrot tops! So everyone was happy.

I have also been harvesting beets that are ready! First I roasted some with fresh rosemary and garlic. They tasted like a mix between a carrot and a potato when roasted. My family loved them that way! I also did some pickled today. They will be ready in a week…. I am looking forward to trying them!! We have also done kale chips and lots of greens in everything!

Having this garden is such a lovely experience. Working outside in the dirt is so good for the soul, enjoying all this fresh produce is so good for the body! If you are considering growing some food… just get out there and grow something you wont regret it!!!!

2 thoughts on “Gardening fun!

Leave a comment